steering clear of the mainstream
since 2001

june 2010

blankred.jpg (4669 bytes)
blankred.jpg (4669 bytes)
blankred.jpg (4669 bytes)
blankred.jpg (4669 bytes)
info opinion

Various Artists

"Future Perfect: The Nature of Time" CD

Innova Recordings

Genres: electronica, ambient, experimental

American Composers Forum
332 Minnesota St. E-145
St. Paul MN 55101

July 29 - Aug 6 2002

The Nature of Time is an American Composers Forum-associated electronica compilation that was commissioned for the Sonic Circuits International Festival of Electronic Music and Art. While the lengthy name of the festival may cause one to expect long, dull electro drones and shameless experimental self-importance bouts, this is not the case. In fact, not only are the songs fun and melodic, but there's a Simon and Garfunkel cover thrown in there as well. SIMON AND GARFUNKEL, FOLKS!

Altogether, the mixture of artists on this record (Future Perfect appears to be the name of a sort of collective of people) results in a wide variety of styles being represented. The title-track, by A Most Happy Sound, is a dark, frightening piece with a menacing beat and a great use of a ticking-clock sound effect. Zaftig's three contributions feature spoken word speeches layed over experimental percussives and strings - the best one of which uses the cuckoo clock as a justification for the existence of evil. Then, of course, there's Christian Erickson's very effective cover of Simon and Garfunkel's "The Boxer". Combining robot-pop electronics, stray bleeps, a deep bass beat, and modified vocals, it's a wonderful and tasteful cover version of the unforgettable classic. As well, there are Giorgio Moroder inspired ambient electronics from Alpha 61, playful turntable antics from TS & Filmore Diggz, V/VM-inspired freak electronics from The Radar Threat, smooth laidback beats from DJ Drone, and bizarre cut-and-paste atmospherics from Podling.

All in all, The Nature of Time is a worthwhile electronica compilation that may be too scattered for some, but refreshingly eclectic for others.


Matt Shimmer

[Vitals: 65 min 54 sec; 11 tracks; distributed by Tower; released 2002]